top of page

Chapter History

The Hawaii Alumnae Chapter (HAC) of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. was chartered April 30, 1983 on the Island of Oahu by 13 dynamic, devoted, determined women. 

Since its chartering, the Hawaii Alumnae Chapter has received numerous awards and recognition to include the National Exemplary Program Award for International Awareness and Involvement, the Farwest Regional Director's Chapter of the Year Award, the Farwest Region Excellence in Membership Program Award, the Farwest Region's Excellence in Physical and Mental Health Award, the NAACP Community Organization of the Year Award, and the two-time winner of Okinawa Alumnae Chapter's "1 Million Steps Challenge." 

In June of 2001, the chapter hosted the 43rd Farwest Regional Conference.  An honor and privilege, the chapter planned and hosted activities for attendees from Alaska, Arizona, California, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Washington, Japan and the Republic of Korea.

Today, many of the chapter members are active duty military, military family members, contractors, and civilian government employees.  The Hawaii Alumnae Chapter of Delta Sigma Theta Sorority, Inc. continues to service its local community with ongoing service programs and projects to include; youth programs, voter registration, physical & mental health programs, scholarship awards, food and clothing drives, and financial seminars.

Charter Members

Della Watson Binion
Sylvia Sloan Black*
Margaret Yvonne Colley
Angela Wright DeGray
Beatrice Robinson Gillespie
Voncius Sanders Hicks
Orian Langley Hight
Ayisha R. Jeffries
Carolyn Well Johnson
Janice McCaw Johnson
Ann M. Smith
Bett Burks Wagstaff
Nova Motton White


No upcoming events at the moment
bottom of page